This link will open a new tab to a different website.

Press "Yes" to confirm.



Kenton County is serviced by 14 fire districts and 23 fire stations. Analysis of Figure 7.2 reveals that most of the fire stations are located within the northern two thirds of the county. Only the Piner-Fiskburg and Kenton & Community fire stations are located south of KY 536.



The county is home to 12 police districts including the Kenton County Police Department.  Each district has its own station. For a majority of the northern half of the county, police services are provided by individual districts such as Elsmere, Ft. Mitchell, or Covington. Two agencies have jurisdiction over the entire county, the Kenton County Police Department stationed on Madison Pike just north of KY 16, and the Kenton County Sheriff which is stationed in the Kenton County Government Center in Covington. The County Police predominantly patrol southern Kenton County but will assist other departments throughout the county when requested. The Sheriff patrols the county and provides administration of taxes, vehicle inspection, and court security. The Kentucky State Police also have jurisdiction to operate within Kenton County and do so as needed.

A significant change in police protection occurred when the cities of Crescent Springs and Villa Hills merged their police departments. Today police protection is provided to the two cities by a unified department. Figure 7.3 shows police districts as well as police stations.


Historically the county was served by three emergency dispatch centers located in Covington, Erlanger, and Kenton County. In September 2012, the Covington dispatch center closed and Kenton County assumed responsibility for calls originating in the city. As of 2023 there is now one Consolidated Dispatch Center known as the Kenton County Emergency Communications Center. It is located at the Kenton County Police Department in Nicholson which was recently expanded.